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STATE OF WISCONSIN, CIRCUIT COURT, 
       COUNTY 
 
 
IN THE MATTER OF THE ESTATE OF 
 
 
       
 
 

Register of deeds recording area 
Name and return address 

      
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Note:  Use black ink only. 
 

 
 
 

Transfer by Affidavit 
($50,000 and under) 

 
 

       
parcel identification number 

 
 
Under oath, I state that: 
 
1. The decedent, whose date of birth was       , and date of death was 

      , died domiciled in        County, State of       , 
with a post office address of:       

 
2.  I am:  an heir, having the following relationship to the decedent:     . 

 the person who was guardian of the decedent at the time of the decedent’s death. 
 trustee of a revocable trust created by the decedent. 

 

3.  The total value of the decedent’s property subject to administration in Wisconsin on the date of death did not 
exceed $50,000. 

 
4.  The total value of the decedent’s property subject to administration in Wisconsin at the date of decedent’s death 

was $       . 
 
5. The decedent: 

 did  did not  receive medical assistance. 
 did  did not  receive family care benefits (through a Care Management Organization – CMO). 
 did  did not  receive benefits from the Community Options Program (COP). 
 did  did not  receive benefits from the Wisconsin Chronic Disease Program. 
 was  was not  patient or inmate of a state or county hospital or institution, or responsible for any 

person owing an obligation to the state or county.  If so, explain:        
 
 

6. If the decedent was ever married, complete the following:       
 Name of spouse (  living  or   deceased):       . 

The spouse   did  did not  receive benefits from the Community Options Program (COP). 
The spouse  did  did not  receive benefits from the Wisconsin Chronic Disease Program. 
 

7. I ask that the following property be transferred to me under §867.03(1g), Wisconsin Statutes: 
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DESCRIPTION OF REAL ESTATE  AND/OR PERSONAL PROPERTY TO BE 
TRANSFERRED 
(If real estate, list legal description and tax parcel number.  If personal property, 
specifically describe property including name of financial institutions and account 
numbers, if any.) 

VALUE 

            

8. By accepting the decedent’s property under this section, I assume a duty to apply the property transferred for the 
payment of obligations according to priorities established under §859.25, Wisconsin Statutes, and to distribute any 
balance to those persons designated in the appropriate governing instrument, as defined in §854.01, Wisconsin 
Statutes, or if there is no governing instrument, according to the rules of intestate succession under ch. 852, 
Wisconsin Statutes.  

 
Subscribed and sworn to before me 
on        
 
  

Notary Public/Court Official 

My commission expires:        

  
  
 Signature 

       
 Name Printed or Typed 

       
 Address 

       
 

This document was drafted by:        
 Print or Type Name 

If this affidavit describes an interest in or lien on real estate, a certified copy or duplicate original of the affidavit must 
be recorded with the register of deeds in each county in Wisconsin where the real estate is located.  

TRANSFER BY AFFIDAVIT (§867.03, Wisconsin Statutes) 
(1c) DEFINITION. In this section, “guardian” has the meaning given in §880.01(3). 
(1g) GENERALLY. When a decedent leaves property subject to administration in this state which does not exceed 

$50,000 in value, any heir of the decedent, trustee of a revocable trust created by the decedent or person who was 
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guardian of the decedent at the time of the decedent’s death may collect any money due the decedent, receive the 
property of the decedent and have any evidence of interest, obligation to or right of the decedent transferred to the 
affiant if the heir, trustee or guardian provides to the person owing the money, having custody of the property or acting 
as registrar or transfer agent of the evidences of interest, obligation to or right, or, if the property is an interest in or lien 
on real property, provides to the register of deeds preliminary to the recording required under sub. (2m), proof of prior 
mailed notice under sub. (1m) if applicable and an affidavit in duplicate showing all of the following: 

(a) A description of and the value of the property to be transferred. 
(b) The total value of the decedent’s property subject to administration in this state at the date of decedent’s death. 
(c) Whether the decedent or the decedent’s spouse ever received the family care benefit under §46.286, medical 

assistance under subch. IV of ch. 49, long-term community support services funded under §46.27(7) or aid under 
§§49.68, 49.683 or 49.685. 

(1m) NOTICE OF AFFIDAVIT. (a) Whenever an heir, trustee or person who was guardian of the decedent at the 
time of the decedent’s death intends to transfer a decedent’s property by affidavit under sub. (1g) and the decedent or 
the decedent’s spouse ever received the family care benefit under §46.286, medical assistance under subch. IV of ch. 
49, long-term community support services funded under §46.27(7) or aid under §§49.68, 49.683 or 49.685, the heir, 
trustee or person who was guardian of the decedent at the time of the decedent’s death shall give notice to the 
department of health and family services of his or her intent.  The notice shall include the information in the affidavit 
under sub. (1g) and the heir, trustee or person who was guardian of the decedent at the time of the decedent’s death 
shall give the notice by certified mail, return receipt requested. 

(b) An heir, trustee or person who was guardian of the decedent at the time of the decedent’s death who files an 
affidavit under sub. (1g) that states that the decedent or the decedent’s spouse received the family care benefit under 
§46.286, medical assistance under subch. IV of ch. 49, long-term community support services funded under §46.27(7) 
or aid under §§49.68, 49.683 or 49.685 shall attach to the affidavit the proof of mail delivery of the notice required 
under par. (a) showing delivery date that is not less than 10 days before the day on which the heir, trustee or person 
who was guardian of the decedent at the time of the decedent’s death files the affidavit. 

(2) RELEASE OF LIABILITY OF TRANSFEROR. Upon the transfer to the heir, trustee or person who was 
guardian of the decedent at the time of the decedent’s death furnishing the affidavit with an attached proof of mail 
delivery if required under sub. (1m) (b), the transferor is released to the same extent as if the transfer had been made 
to the personal representative of the estate of the decedent. 

(2g)  OBLIGATION OF AFFIANT. By accepting the decedent’s property under this section the heir, trustee, or 
guardian assumes a duty to apply the property transferred for the payment of obligations according to priorities 
established under §859.25 and to distribute any balance to those persons designated in the appropriate governing 
instrument, as defined in §854.01, of the decedent or if there is no governing instrument, according to the rules of 
intestate succession under ch. 852. An heir or guardian may publish a notice to creditors in the same manner and with 
the same effect as a trustee under §701.065. This subsection does not prohibit any appropriate person from 
requesting administration of the decedent’s estate under §856.07 or ch. 865. 

(2m) RECORDING OF AFFIDAVIT. (a) If an affidavit under sub. (1g) describes an interest in or lien on real 
property a certified copy or duplicate original of the affidavit shall be recorded in the office of the register of deeds in 
each county in this state in which the real property is located. 

(b) For purposes of a transfer under this section of an interest in or lien on real property, the recording of the 
affidavit copy or duplicate original constitutes the transfer to the affiant under sub. (1g) of the evidence of the interest in 
or lien on real property. 

(3) APPLICABILITY. This section is additional to §109.03(3) for payment of decedent’s wages by an employer 
directly to the decedent’s dependents. 
 

Address for: Department of Health and Family Services 
Estate Recovery Program 
P. O. Box 309 
Madison, WI 53701-0309 
NOTE: If you are providing a copy of this affidavit to the Estate Recovery Program or a 
financial institution, include decedent’s social security number on a separate 
document.
 


